# MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL URGENCY

Thursday, 20 October 2011 at 2.00 pm

PRESENT: Councillors Adefirance, Alan Hall, De Ryk and Smith

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Damien Egan and Councillor Philip Peake

## 1. Election of Chair and Vice Chair - 20 October 2011

**ELECTION OF CHAIR** 

RESOLVED that Councillor Obajimi Adefiranye be

elected Chair for the Municipal Year

2011/12

**ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR** 

RESOLVED that Councillor Alan Smith be elected

Vice-Chair for the Municipal Year

2011/12

#### 2. Minutes

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting of the

Committee held on September 25 2007,

be confirmed and signed.

### 3. Declarations of Interests

There were none.

# 4. Council Scheme of Delegation

The report was introduced by the Head of Law's representative who reported changes to the Constitution Scheme of delegation were required so that the reduction from five to four directorates could take place on October 24 as planned.

The Head of Law's representative highlighted a change made to the matters reserved to planning committees which would henceforth be responsible for the consideration of all town and country planning matters relating to the demolition of any building in use as a public house or which was currently unoccupied but was in use as a public house immediately prior to becoming unoccupied.

Councillor Smith pointed out pages 334 and 335 of the report pertaining to the composition of the Executive contained some factual errors which required correction. Councillor De Ryk received confirmation that the transfer of responsibility for Licensing to the Customer Services Directorate would not affect the powers and responsibilities of the Licensing Committee.

Councillor Hall requested that a summary of all the changes made to the Constitution be considered at the next meeting of the Constitution Working Party for their information.

RESOLVED

That the delegation of non-executive functions set out in the Schedule appearing at Appendix A be approved.